The management of the AQUAlity network is structured as follows:

Use the following links to see the composition of each board:
Management team
Joint Governing Structure
Public Relation Team
PhD Coach
Advisory board
Supervisory board

Management team:

Project Coordinator

Prof. Paola Calza

Department of Chemistry, Universita’ degli Studi di Torino (IT)

Scientific Manager

Prof. Giuliana Magnacca

Department of Chemistry, Universita’ degli Studi di Torino (IT)

Administrative Managers

Dr. Cristiano Lo Iacono

Department of Chemistry, Universita’ degli Studi di Torino (IT)


Dr. Emilia Sannino

Department of Chemistry, Universita’ degli Studi di Torino (IT)

Dissemination and Exploitation Manager

Dr. Martina Zuena

Department of Chemistry, Universita’ degli Studi di Torino (IT)

Joint Governing Structure:

The Joint Governing Structure will ensure that the recruitment process occurs under equal opportunities and scientific qualification criteria, the excellence in training standards and tutoring for all ESRs trained is respected, also during secondments and the personal Career Development Plan of the ESRs is reviewed and approved every six month. It consists of 1 external member, 3 representatives of beneficiaries and 3 non-academic partners.

Prof. Luciano Carlos (Chair)

Instituto de Investigación y Desarrollo en Ingeniería de Procesos, Biotecnología y Energías Alternativas, PROBIEN and Universidad Nacional del Comahue, Neuquén (AR)


Dr. Stèphane Bouchonnet

Laboratoire de Chimie Moléculaire – École Polytechnique, Palaiseau (FR)


Dr. Marcello Brigante

CNRS, Institute of Chemistry of Clermont-Ferrand (FR)


Dr. Carlos Escudero

Norwegian Institute for Water Research, Oslo (NO)


Dr. Haris Kadrispahic

Head of projects – LiqTech International (DK)


Dr. Inmaculada Polo

Plataforma Solar de Almería (ES)


Prof. Vasilios Sakkas

Department of Chemistry, Panepistimio Ioanninon (GR)


Public Relation Team:

Prof. Vittorio Boffa

Department of Chemistry and Bioscience, Aalborg University (DK)
Section of Chemistry
Inorganic Amorphous Materials

Prof. Claire Richard

Université Clermont Auvergne (F)
CNRS, Institute of Chemistry of Clermont-Ferrand


Dr. Haris Kadrispahic

Head of projects – LiqTech International (DK)


Dr. Javier Climent

Sociedad de Fomento Agrícola Castellonense, S.A. (ES)


PhD Coach:

Prof. Pia Bøgelund

Department of Planning, Aalborg University (DK)

Aalborg UNESCO Centre for Problem Based Learning in Engineering Science and Sustainability

Advisory Board:

Prof. Despo Fatta-Kassinos

Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Cyprus (CY)
Chair of the “Scientific and Technological Board” of Water JPI, Project Coordinator of ANtibioticS and mobile resistance elements in WastEwater Reuse applications: risks and innovative solutions (ANSWER)

Prof. Javier Marugan

Department of Chemical and Environmental Technology, Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Mostoles, Madrid (ES)
Principal Investigator of Water JPI project MOTREM

Prof. Ignasi Rodriguez-Roda

ICRA, Catalan Institute for Water Research (ES) and LEQUIA, Institute of the Environment, University of Girona (ES)
Principal Investigator of Smart Decentralized Water Management through a dynamic integration of technologies (WATINTECH JPI)

Prof. Teppo Vehanen

Senior Researcher at Natural Resources Institute Finland (Luke) (FL)
Member of the “The Stakeholder Advisory Group” of Water JPI


Supervisory Board:

The Supervisory Board is chaired by the coordinator and is responsible for the network-wide strategic, scientific, training and risk management. It consists of:

  • 15 ESR supervisors (Elisa Robotti, Alessandra Bianco Prevot, Vasilios Sakkas, Stéphane Bouchonnet, Peter Roslev, Rita Binetti, Miguel A. Miranda, Maria Luisa Marin, Emin Bacaksız, Antonio Arques, Claire Richard, Inmaculada Polo-Lopez, Vittorio Boffa, Victor Manuel Candelario Leal, Giuliana Magnacca, Sixto Malato)
  • 5 representatives of ESRs, elected for 12 months (ESR1 Masho Hilawie Belay, ESR8 Chukwuka Bethel Anucha, ESR9 Iván Matías Sciscenko, ESR14  Fabrício Eduardo Bortot Coelho, ESR5 Oihane Del Puerto Bengoetxea)
  • 6 representatives of the Consortium, chosen between the non-academic partners (Haris Kadrispahic, Marcello Manfredi, Peter Bondgaard Mortensen, Vasilios Stathopulos, Isabel Oller, Alessandro Cedrino).